Page 2 of 2  •  Prev 1 2
Switch to Forum Live View Family Locked in Restaurant for Refusing to Pay Tip
2 years ago  ::  May 04, 2012 - 3:41AM #11
Ebon

May 3, 2012 -- 2:12PM, Ironhold wrote:

Can we say "kidnapping"?

If I was a cop, that's what I'd consider charging the restaraunt staff with.

IIRC, the victim has to be moved to constitute a charge of kidnapping. Keeping the victim in one place against their will would seem more likely to be a charge of "false imprisonment".

He who oppresses the poor shows contempt for their Maker, but whoever is kind to the needy honors God. ~ Proverbs 14:31

Fiat justitia, ruat caelum

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 04, 2012 - 7:13AM #12
costrel

May 3, 2012 -- 12:28PM, REteach wrote:

Even rotten wait staff have to pay taxes on tips they don't receive.  I think we should get rid of tips and should just have the cost as part of the meal.  

I agree. Get rid of tips and pay servers at least minimum wage. None of this pay servers two and a half dollars an hour and expect them to make the rest up with tips. When I lived in Japan, there was no such thing as tipping, and the service was always excellent, no matter where I ate. 

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 04, 2012 - 12:03PM #13
Girlchristian

May 4, 2012 -- 7:13AM, costrel wrote:

May 3, 2012 -- 12:28PM, REteach wrote:

Even rotten wait staff have to pay taxes on tips they don't receive.  I think we should get rid of tips and should just have the cost as part of the meal.  

I agree. Get rid of tips and pay servers at least minimum wage. None of this pay servers two and a half dollars an hour and expect them to make the rest up with tips. When I lived in Japan, there was no such thing as tipping, and the service was always excellent, no matter where I ate. 

As a former waiter, there were many nights where I made WAY more than minimum wage because of tips. I wouldn't agree with doing away with tips and just going to minimum wage.