Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

7 years ago  ::  Aug 06, 2010 - 1:56AM #1
Knittingrn

I'm fairly new to Buddhism; I've been reading about it and studying it for over a year.  According to the test, it comes up 100% Theraveda Buddhist for me.  There is a Shambala Center in my area and no other Buddhist resources.  I have gone to a couple classes there.  I have found little information on how Shambhala Buddhism ties into other types of Buddhism.  Does anyone have anything to offer?

Thanks

Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Aug 15, 2010 - 7:48PM #2
Eujene

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shambhala_Buddhism

Shambhala Buddhism was founded by Chogyam Trungpa, a controversial Tibetan Buddhist teacher and former monk who lived in the U.K. and subsequently in the U.S. Although the basis of his teaching was Kagyu and Nyingma Tibetan Buddhism there was a a secular element that sought to integrate buddhist meditation with non-buddhist forms of contemplation. He also integrated elements of Zen and Japanese arts, as well as elements of Shinto, Taoism and Confucianism. This said it is essentially Mahayana, and if your looking for orthodox Theravada teaching you wont find it there.

Heres some Theravada links in the US:

www.buddhanet.info/wbd/search.php?keywor...[]=1&type_id[]=2&country_id=2&province_id=0&tradition[]=theravada

hope to have been helpful!

Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Aug 20, 2010 - 8:19AM #3
Bhakta_glenn

The Eleventh Trungpa Rinpoche

"Trungpa Rinpoche was born in 1940 in the province of Kham                      in Eastern Tibet. He was recognized as the eleventh incarnate                      teacher in the teaching lineage known as the Trungpa Tulkus.                      Trungpa Rinpoche was enthroned as Supreme Abbot of Surmang                      Monasteries and Governor of Surmang District."