7 years ago  ::  Mar 23, 2008 - 7:56AM #1
bblue
I am new at this practice (only 4 months).  My chanting was bringing miraculous benefits and changes in me and the world around me.  Something devastating happened and now I get angry at the idea of chanting. It's as if the words just won't come out. I am angry, sad, confused.  I simply cannot believe that a problem so big would suddenly present itself to me now.  I feel so discouraged. Anyone else experience this kind of thing?  I even missed my big day of receiving Gohonzon because I felt like a fraud and I felt no happiness or compassion in my heart.  This faith is what sustained me the most before this traumatic event and now I can't even turn to it because I am so badly damaged.

Any advice?
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Mar 23, 2008 - 11:21AM #2
austex
bblue,

Maybe it would help to remember that neither Nichiren Shonin nor his followers had an easy time of things.  Whatever it is that has happened or is happening in your life, you can find Buddha Nature there as well.  Have you tried doing some reading/studying of the LS and/or Nichiren's writings?  That would probably be helpful to you.

Good luck!

--Mark
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Mar 24, 2008 - 7:41AM #3
Lotus-4311
When I started chanting, just two years ago,  I had experience great benefits and obstacles.  I had been evictated from apartment, lost a job.  All the while I had the support of fellow Buddhists members, and I kept chanting and participated in activities.  This is when you need support from your members and chant with determination.  I did feel what was the point of chantig if I was going to face challenges that felt as if I was taking two steps forward and three steps backgroud.  Remember when we chant to Gohonzon it is a reflection of our lives and we chant to have the courages to face any challenge that come into lives. 

Do not give up, and I will be chanting for you to have strength

Lotus-4311
Quick Reply
Cancel