Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Page 2 of 2  •  Prev 1 2
Switch to Forum Live View Choosing the right mala beads
10 years ago  ::  Feb 25, 2008 - 1:37PM #11
Dharma66
Any Mala should be blessed before you use it. The Tibetan Nun's Project has some beautiful ones as does Dharma Shop. If you order one from either of them it comes already blessed. However, malas aren't required to offer prayers. I didn't get my first one until I had been practicing for 2 years. The important thing to remember is that Buddhism isn't about following a set of rituals or prayers. The prayers are a tool to help us be mindful that's all. It's easy to get caught up in ritual and forget that we are to apply the Teachings in our daily lives away from the meditation cushion or altar. Good Luck
Quick Reply
Cancel
10 years ago  ::  Feb 27, 2008 - 1:05PM #12
tenzinmomo
Dear friend: I would like to suggest a practice to you, regardless of your tradition. I always used a 27 bead mala: it was convenient to wear and use whenevr there was a lull in my day when I was teaching. When I turned 54, I realized that it was ma multiple of 27 on the road to 108. I went to a bead store and found 54 beads that appealed to me. I made a simple mala and have used it for over ten years now.
  I   recommend making your own mala to all practioners now. As your practice is your own, so should the mala reflect your tastes and love of meditation. I am not talking about making jewelry but constructing your own promise of practice, giving it special meaning to you.
   As western Buddhism grows, we need to take tradition and make it our own. Wiuth good thoughts for your practice and hopes for mall living beings,
Tenzinmomo
Quick Reply
Cancel
10 years ago  ::  Mar 18, 2008 - 1:23PM #13
Lady_Literati