Switch to Forum Live View Kabbalistic / Jewish astrology
4 years ago  ::  Aug 05, 2010 - 12:40PM #1
shawoman

Hi all,

I am studying "Jewish shamanism" with a well-known rabbi in California, and someone touched on Jewish astrology. I am kind of curious about this.

My understanding is that astrology is permitted as long as you don't use it for divination purposes, i.e. one can use the information from a person's astrological sign, time of birth, and day/date of birth to discover their tendencies, strenghts, and things they need to work on in order to improve themselves/check possible compatability with another person.

So, is the above pretty much correct?

Can you point me to a reliable resource - in English - where I can read up on this?

Thanks!!

pbojsen

Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Aug 23, 2010 - 11:19AM #2
Pam34

That's about right - although personally I think its still pretty ridiculous (astrology). As for reliable sources - not many. Your rabbi/instructor can probably point you to a few books on the topic. Astrological study had a place in kabbalistic circles, but not usually a prominant place.

There are certain names I would consider reliable for Jewish mysticism in general, for instance, Arthur Green, Daniel Gordis or Lawrence Kushner. I can't say if any of them address astrology, at least not in the detail you seem to be looking for.

Beliefnet published a nice compact little book on the subject of Kabbalah a few years ago  - 'the Beliefnet guide to kabbalah' by Arthur Goldwag.

Blessed are You, HaShem, Who blesses the years.
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Aug 23, 2010 - 2:48PM #3
shawoman

Hi Pam,

I would agree that astrology used as a divinational tool, i.e. the daily horoscope, is pretty much a waste of paper and time.