Page 1 of 12  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Confusion with a capital C
6 years ago  ::  Feb 18, 2008 - 1:40PM #1
Weeping_Willow1526
Hey everyone! I have a dilemma, and am seeking help. I'll be posting similar posts on here and on a Christian board.....really I am just looking for answers. I'll get into my story, and I'll *attempt* to keep it short and not too whiney!

I am a spiritual and religious person, the problem is, I don't really have a religion. I was raised Christian, left the church, and stumbled across Judaism. I fell in love with it, and I really wanted to convert. I studied for a long time...years, and was ready to go before the beis din. Of course, I had more to learn and I had to actually live it; I just mean that I was certain that that is what I wanted to do.

I packed up and moved away, ready to start my new life as a soon-to-be-Jew. The family I was to stay with turned out to be WAY different than what I expected. I will not get into details because I do not like to call people down, but I will say that I did NOT feel as though I could stay there and left immediately. I was devastated because these people, this community lived so far away, and I felt as though-as I drove away-my dreams were being left behind.

I don't believe I can convert where I am now (at least not to Orthodox, which is what I was always in love with). I also don't know if I can gather the courage to move away again. I didn't want to move in the first place; I forced myself because I had to. Once I was there, if everything had gone as planned, I would have been find....but the LEAVING part....it's just so hard. I don't know if I can go through that again, but I will try if I know God wants me to.