Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

7 years ago  ::  Jul 22, 2010 - 10:42PM #1
Jehovahs_light

I have been reading Science and Health with keys to the sciptures but have a very hard time understanding a lot of it. I am really interested in your faith and want to know more about it. How does one pray in CS? If one was to ask God for direction in life and to help with some personal problems how would one pray? If one was sick or in pain how would one conduct their prayers for that? There is no near by CS church or center in my area at all so I was wondering how I can use CS in my life daily with out going to an actual Chruch or reading room? Thank you so much for your time and anwsers.

Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Oct 13, 2010 - 6:25AM #2
IByrnison

Hi Jehovah's Light.  I am by no means an expert of Christian Science, but I was raised one and I still practice CS at age 19 so I will do my best to answer your questions.

I don't know how much you know about Christian Science, but I will try to first give you a little background about the faith and then address your questions.  In Christian Science, we believe that God is all and God is good, therefore everything must be good.  There's no room for anything bad.  Man, then, is spiritual, and made up not of the flesh and bone that our material senses reveal to us.  We are all just spiritual expressions of God.  It is our spiritual, Godlike qualities that define us, such as joy, grace, intelligence, love, and many others.  What I would say is the goal of a Christian Scientist is to overcome the lying material sense and realize fully our true spiritual state of being.

Now to address your questions more specifically: