Switch to Forum Live View Women speaking in church
5 years ago  ::  Nov 18, 2009 - 2:33PM #1
mawga

I am new to the Missionary Baptist faith and would like to know if it is improper for woman to speak, not preach, during conference? Could someone please tell me where I might find this in the bible or tell me if this is improper.

Thank you and God bless you
Shirley

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Nov 19, 2009 - 3:06PM #2
Roodog

Nov 18, 2009 -- 2:33PM, mawga wrote:

I am new to the Missionary Baptist faith and would like to know if it is improper for woman to speak, not preach, during conference? Could someone please tell me where I might find this in the bible or tell me if this is improper.

Thank you and God bless you
Shirley

There was a command for woman to be silent in church.

This was meant to hush down interruption of the service.

Present application of this command differs.

Once the Catholic Church had boys in the choir instead of women because the Pope thought that women ought to be silent.

For those who have faith, no explanation is neccessary.
For those who have no faith, no explanation is possible.

St. Thomas Aquinas

If one turns his ear from hearing the Law, even his prayer is an abomination. Proverbs 28:9
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Nov 19, 2009 - 3:56PM #3
Bevo

The scripture in question is not prescriptive, rather it is descriptive.  It is descriptive of a certain group of women at the Corinth church who couldn't keep their mouths shut during worship and disturbed the entire asembly.  Paul was not prescribing that all women be silent in all churches for all time.

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Dec 24, 2009 - 10:25AM #4
Roodog