Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Page 4 of 4  •  Prev 1 2 3 4
Switch to Forum Live View re:The Holy Spirit and Miracles Today
8 years ago  ::  Jan 26, 2010 - 10:48AM #31
Livelysword

May 9, 2009 -- 10:52PM, newway87 wrote:

I find this conversation fascinating.  I'm a pianist, and I started playing for church where I grew up by the time I was 11.  I've been at it ever since.  I might also  mention to you that I worshipped in college at a non-instrumental congregation (and loved it), but grew up with parents that would turn and walk out of a church that didn't have a piano simply because they'd seen non-instrumentalists walk out of our assembly because we DID have one.

My position on this is that either way can be an enhancement, or a distraction.  As a musician, I know that a really bad pianist can negatively affect worship, as can a congregation or song leader that can't carry a tune.  Some people like newer music, some don't want it if it's not "Amazing Grace."  I've been in many of these situations, and I just remind myself that making a joyful noise is the most important part.  (I realize that the Hebrew for "noise" varies quite a bit, but I prefer to take it at face value.)

My only question for those that think the pianist should leave the piano at home, and that sung words of praise is the only proper way, what about deaf people?  I have for years known many deaf Christians that can't utter a single sound--but I have been moved to tears to watch someone sign a familiar hymn beautifully.  To me, this is a wonderful enhancement to worship.  Bottom line for me is, bring your best, and accept what others bring when there's no clear statement in scripture.