6 years ago  ::  Jun 12, 2008 - 12:06PM #1
justins_mommie33
I was born and raised as a daughter of a UCC minister.  I of course was baptized and church was always an important part of my life.  After meeting my husband I drifted from the church.  Now that I am a mom and in the midst of a divorce I am finding comfort at church.  I want to have my son baptized.  I am unsure how to approach his father my future ex about it.  He wants more than "I just feel it is important".   I want Justin to know about spitituality and he enjoys attending.  I plan to join again in the next few months. Any suggestions.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Jun 14, 2008 - 12:06AM #2
JonAtFaithUCC
Hi there!  How old is your son?
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Jun 14, 2008 - 8:10AM #3
justins_mommie33
He is 7 years old.  The few times he has attended with me he has LOVED it.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Jun 14, 2008 - 10:19AM #4
mecdukebec
As a UCC pastor, I would say that 7 is closer than ``not`` to confirmation age.  If your church has a confirmation (catechism) class, why not have your child in confirmation when a teenager, then baptism.  It`s not `required` but if you and your son are `getting into` church, there`s the wonderful process of welcoming into the church that could come for him and you by church camp, confirmation camp, then an outrageously, wonderful baptism and confirmation ceremony that could take place in a service of worship.   It would be an incredible high-point for your entire family. 

But, if your son and you desire baptism now, that`s no problem either.  Why not call the pastor, and discuss what you both want to do.  If your church already welcomes your son into Holy Communion, as our UCC congregation does, baptism is another step along that journey into ``church`` (in all its great meanings). :)