Page 1 of 4  •  1 2 3 4 Next
Switch to Forum Live View What do you like about your church?
7 years ago  ::  Oct 13, 2007 - 2:50PM #1
Beliefnetsabee
What do you like about your church? Please share your wonderful stories with us.
I always remember that for every word typed there is a real person sitting behind the keyboard.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Apr 09, 2008 - 3:09AM #2
Vanessa86
Hello, everyone. I am new to BeliefNet and this is my first post.

There are two main things I adore about my church:
1. The people are so welcoming and friendly, and have been since the first time I walked in. At the same time, no one is pushy about their beliefs or how they think I should believe. I feel safe there.

2. The music program is fantastic. It's one of the things that kept me coming back, and inspired me to join and become active in the music program. I hadn't sung with a group since a very brief stint in a church youth choir as a teen, and I wasn't even sure if I was good enough to join. But the group welcomed me warmly when I hesitantly poked my head into the music room, and has been so supportive as I have found, and strengthened, my voice. Singing the texts has helped me reconnect with my faith in a way that listening to a sermon cannot.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Apr 10, 2008 - 10:08AM #3
Campbellite
Welcome Vanessa!

I love your sig line!

I also greatly appreciate the music at our church. I cannot remember a time in my life that I have not been in one choir or another. We have a lot of great amateur* musicians. Almost all of our choir can read music, which makes things really interesting.

I also love the architecture of our sanctuary. Sadly most DOC churches are plain boxes with little ornamentation or, it would seem, attention paid to the esthetics. The folks who built this place back in 1966 did it up right. They hired one of the top architects in the city, and created a splendid example of mid-century modern sacred space.