Page 1 of 5  •  1 2 3 4 5 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Paul worked weekdays and kept the Sabbath
5 years ago  ::  May 26, 2010 - 10:34AM #1
Bob10

Acts 18:1-11, NASB - "After these things he left Athens and went to Corinth. And he found a Jew named Aquila,....with his wife Priscilla.... because he was of the same trade, he stayed with them and they were working, for by trade they were tent-makers. And he was reasoning in the synagogue every Sabbath and trying to persuade Jews and Greeks."

If we could find one text in the New Testament giving as strong authority for Sunday observance as this one does for Sabbath-keeping, we should certainly have Bible authority for it. Here Paul worked weekdays, but went to church and taught Gentiles as well as Jews every Sabbath.

Now the Commandment says: "Six days shall you labor, and do all your work," just as much as it says "Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy." There is just as much command to work six days as there is to rest the seventh. And so if the day had been changed, Paul would have had to work Sabbaths, in order to go to church and preach every Sunday. But here he worked weekdays and went to church and preached every Sabbath -- not just on one occasion -- it says every Sabbath.

He preached Christ and the Gospel of the Kingdom. And when the Jews became offended and blasphemed, Paul turned away from the Jews altogether, and from then on preached to Gentiles only (verse 6), and he contined there a year and six months (verse 11) -- working weekdays -- preaching to Gentiles ONLY -- every Sabbath.

What stronger Bible evidence than this, as to the true Sabbath of the New Testament. For a year and a half Paul continued working weekdays -- six days -- including Sundays -- and preaching to Gentiles exclusively EVERY SABBATH. Certainly it was his custom and manner.

And Paul "as his manner was, went in unto them, and three Sabbath Days reasoned with them out of the scriptures (Acts 17:2).