Switch to Forum Live View Entering a Carthusian Monastery
5 years ago  ::  Apr 14, 2010 - 3:35AM #1
mattchapter25

People might be interested in this article in the Guardian newspaper about someone pursuing a contemplative vocation to the max-

www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/belief/...

If "by their fruits you shall know them" is a test by which we can determine the authenticity of a Christian vocation, then what does contemplative monasticism produce exactly? This question has become an acute one for me as I prepare to exchange the frenetically busy atmosphere of an acute medical ward where I work as a staff nurse for the solitude and silence of a Carthusian Charterhouse.

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  May 26, 2010 - 7:21PM #2
soma77

I am impressed with your dedication, inner spirituality and sincerity. I feel a monastery is a power house. It is not so much about peace, which you will find, but about the inner relationship with Our Lord. You not longer will be evolving spiritually, because you will be moving much faster and evolving faster spiritually. Thank you for making a commitment to raise your consciousness and in the process raise the consciousness of the world. 

Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Jul 03, 2010 - 1:09PM #3
Weepingangelofthetrees

Fascinating. I certainly would never condemn someone who's spirit feels drawn to such a vocation as that of Monk.