6 years ago  ::  Nov 10, 2008 - 11:19PM #1
Liriodendron
Hi,
I'm a landscape architect in Georgia, USA.  I grew up Southern Baptist and still go to a Baptist church but I always like to understand others spiritual ideas.  I'm getting more and more interested in ecology and how humans can live in harmony with nature.

I'm interested in Celtic Christianity because of the way it connects with the creation, because of how honest and practical the old prayers are, because it didn't reject everything in it's culture.

I also play the violin and I'm learning Scottish and Irish fiddle tunes.  I wonder how far back that music goes?

My ancestory is pretty mixed since we've been in North American since the early 1700's but a fair amount were Scotch-Irish.  Being Presbyterian, I don't even know how connected they ever were to Celtic Christianity.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Nov 11, 2008 - 7:55AM #2
mfjfarrell
Dia annseo isteach!
God to all here!

Greetings Liriodendron,

Ta failte!  Be welcomed!  Thanks for searching us out here on Beliefnet, we are a rather small pocket of Christianity as you may have noticed.

Your interests in CC are all valid and sometimes give us the title of 'Green Religion'.  Its true, we seek harmony with ourselves, God and all Creation (mankind and nature).  Many hold onto the theology of their previous affiliations and attempt to 'put on a green mantle' to their thinking.  So, you are in good company here. 

Our ancestors had a slightly different approach, however.  In the Great Schism of the Early Church, those in the Celtic lands leaned more towards Eastern theology than that of Rome.  In the East, mankind is seen as an 'icon' of Christ, inherently good but flawed by his selfishness.  This is opposed to the Roman/Calvinist view of the 'corruption' of mankind after the Fall.