Page 1 of 5  •  1 2 3 4 5 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Progressive Christianity with a Catholic Flavor
7 years ago  ::  Jan 02, 2008 - 9:16PM #1
bigbear6161
Hello everyone.  I am new to Beliefnet and found my way onto the progressive Christianity forum. after the Belief'omatic rated me as a Liberal Protestant.  In fact, I identify myself as a Catholic, albeit a liberal one.  I only scored 43% on Catholic but 90% Liberal Protestant.  Anyway,  I am most impressed by the approach to Christianity I have read here so far.  I am asking 1)Is there a difference between Progressive Christian and Liberal Protestant? and 2) Would Catholics like myself be counted as Progressive Christians too?
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 02, 2008 - 11:01PM #2
AppleMan
Welcome!

One of my favorite progressive writers is John Dominic Crossan, who is Catholic, although I am not sure if the Catholic Church claims him these days.
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 03, 2008 - 6:30PM #3
Iwantamotto
I would guess that, no matter what denomination you are, if your heart is progressive and you are Christian ... then you are a Progressive Christian.
Knock and the door shall open.  It's not my fault if you don't like the decor.
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 03, 2008 - 7:15PM #4
mattchapter25
Depends what you mean by Progressive or Catholic or Christian. The martyred Archbishop of El Salvador Servant of God Oscar Romero was certainly a candidate for all three labels. The Claretians seem fairly progressive too, http://salt.claretianpubs.org/ or http://uscatholic.claretians.org/site/P … c_homepage
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 04, 2008 - 5:26PM #5
mattchapter25