Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Post Reply
Switch to Forum Live View Canon of the Community of Christ (RLDS)
10 years ago  ::  Dec 17, 2007 - 12:42PM #1
Posts: 11
The following three books make up the canon of the Community of Christ, also known as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints:

The Inspired Version of the Holy Scriptures (also known as the Joseph Smith Translation)
The Book of Mormon
The Doctrine and Covenants

The Book of Moses is incorporated within the book of Genesis (IV) and also in sections 22 and 36 of the D&C

The Book of Mormon (especially the Lamoni, Iowa edition, 1908) is very close to the original manuscript

The Doctrine and Covenants has 163 sections (some sections were removed by actions of the 1970 and 1990 RLDS General Conferences):
Joseph Smith: 1-113, 108A
Joseph Smith III: 114-131
Frederick M. Smith: 132-138
Israel Smith: 139-144
W. Wallace Smith: 145-152, 149A
Wallace B. Smith: 153-160
W. Grant McMurray: 161-162
Stephen Veazey: 163

The versification of the CoC editions of the Book of Mormon and D&C are different from the LDS.
The CoC does not recognize the Book of Abraham, found in the LDS PoGP. Joseph Smith-History and Joseph Smith-Matthew are included in RLDS church history.
Quick Reply
9 years ago  ::  Dec 24, 2008 - 6:44AM #2
Posts: 1
After going through the log-in process I may have forgotten what the thread is.  I assume it had something to do with the Community of Christ.  Thumbnail sketch - formerly known as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints as it shared about 14 years of history with the LDS but has gone in a very different direction, especially in the last few decades.  All scripture has worth but not as literol  history. 

We usaally use the Revised Standard Version of the Bible rather than the KJV.
Quick Reply
    Viewing this thread :: 0 registered and 1 guest
    No registered users viewing

    Beliefnet On Facebook