Switch to Forum Live View My Quest & Questions
4 years ago  ::  Apr 11, 2010 - 1:34AM #1
Sunsplash

(x-posted from interfaith dialogue - I'm a newbie and have no idea where is best to post!)

After paroozing this site for hours trying to figure out where to post, I've decided to try this area in hopes of sparking responses from people of various faiths.  Let me get this out of the way quickly before I move on - I'm not looking to be "saved" - I am on a personal and spiritual quest for God's Truth, and I don't believe that is designated in one specific religion, and I hope we can all learn from each other, even in areas of disagreement.  Can you tell I've had some bad experiences? LoL

I wrote a book as my first journal entry (haha) and don't wish to repost it here (feel free to read it for more background) so I will do a brief summary.

I've never questioned or doubted God - the Hebrew God, God of Abraham, the God of the Bible.  I am, however, in serious and internal dispair over the "Jesus" factor and what Christianity is today, what it was intended to be, and if it was even meant to be.  All of my life I was taught to accept Jesus as the Son of God, Jesus who IS God, and if I don't, then eternal damnation is the only result.  As I entered adulthood, I began to cast off my child "trained brain" and seek further answers for myself, and it has culminated now that I am a parent.  I want to have more firm beliefs based on Faith and Fact, with a clear understanding of myself, so that I can reason and explain why I choose to believe what I do, something I was never offered when I asked questions.  I'm seeking God's Truth, not man's interpretation of events that were decided to be true based on a general concensus over decades and centuries for the benefit of their "church."