Switch to Forum Live View trauma or PTSD and spirituality/religion
5 years ago  ::  Sep 04, 2009 - 8:28AM #1
Getrtg

I am a Vietnam veteran who is a survivor of an atrocity.

I grew up with a strong Lutheran faith. Ever since the trauma, I have wandered through many religious traditions and practices. I won't bother listing them. It is a long list. Maybe in a future post.

I wouldn't mind getting some faith back. I have recently had an inkling of a new path, that is quite unconventional, I think. I guess that is all I will say for now.

I would be interested if anyone has knowledge or experience of the phenomen of trauma affecting a persons path to a religion, or to spirituality, per se. Or let's call it God.

RANDY

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Feb 05, 2010 - 12:15AM #2
ToltecLogic

Yes but it is difficult to know where to begin, perhaps this

recent post might offer a place to begin...

The truth is we each of us have it within ourselves
this capacity to live an awakened life, not by holding
on to any one life changing catharsis of being but
rather in remaining true to our being no matter what
the circumstance. What is the point of self mastery
if not to do good works for the sake of temporal
achievement? But we must first learn to walk before
we can possibly hope to excel. So many are the
teachers from every unknown persuasion telling
us how much we have yet to grow.
And yet it is said, “The situation may be up to others,
but creation of life is up to oneself.”

“So in the path of practice of the Tao, it is not a matter
of people's talents or qualities, but of whether or not they
have determination. Without determination, even talented
and intelligent people are incapable of attaining the Tao;
with determination, even ignorant men and women are
capable of attaining it. As it is said, those who realize it
immediately ascend to the rank of sages, while those
who miss it sink in the stream forever.”
Taoist I Ching

There was a time once not so long ago