Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Post Reply
9 years ago  ::  Nov 17, 2008 - 8:21AM #1
Posts: 1,552
On samadhi - a poem by Paramahansa Yogananda and some links to writings about samadhi.


by Paramahansa Yogananda

from: … da_poems/1

Vanished are the veils of light and shade,
Lifted the vapors of sorrow,
Sailed away the dawn of fleeting joy,
Gone the mirage of the senses.
Love, hate, health, disease, life and death –
Departed, these false shadows on the screen
    of duality.
Waves of laughter, scyllas of sarcasm, whirlpools
    of melancholy,
Melting in the vast sea of bliss.
Bestilled is the storm of maya
By the magic wand of intuition deep.
The universe, a forgotten dream, lurks
Ready to invade my newly wakened memory divine.
I exist without the cosmic shadow,
But it could not live bereft of me;
As the sea exists without the waves,
But they breathe not without the sea.
Dreams, wakings, states of deep turiya sleep,
Present, past, future, no more for me,
But the ever-present, all-flowing, I, I

Consciously enjoyable,
Beyond the imagination of all expectancy,
Is this, my samadhi state.
Planets, stars, stardust, earth,
Volcanic bursts of doomsday cataclysms,
Creation’s moulding furnace,
Glaciers of silent X-rays,
Burning floods of electrons,
Thoughts of all men, past, present, future,
Every blade of grass, myself and all,
Each particle of creation’s dust,
Anger, greed, good, bad, salvation, lust,
I swallowed up – transmuted them
Into one vast ocean of blood of my own one Being!
Smoldering joy, oft-puffed by unceasing
Which blinded my tearful eyes,
Burst into eternal flames of bliss,
And consumed my tears, my peace, my frame,
  my all.
Thou art I, I am Thou,
Knowing, Knower, Known, as One!
One tranquilled, unbroken thrill of eternal,
living, ever-new peace!

Not an unconscious state
Or mental chloroform without wilful return,
Samadhi but extends my realm of consciousness
Beyond the limits of my mortal frame
To the boundaries of eternity,
Where I, the Cosmic Sea,
Watch the little ego floating in Me.
Not a sparrow, nor a grain of sand, falls
    without my sight
All space floats like an iceberg in my mental sea.
I am the Colossal Container of all things made!
By deeper, longer, continuous, thirsty,
  guru – given meditation,
This celestial samadhi is attained.
All the mobile murmurs of atoms are heard;
The dark earth, mountains, seas are molten liquid!
This flowing sea changes into vapors of nebulae!
Aum blows o’er the vapors; they open their veils,
Revealing a sea of shining electrons,
Till, at the last sound of the cosmic drum,
Grosser light vanishes into eternal rays
Of all-pervading Cosmic Joy.
From Joy we come,
For Joy we live,
In the sacred Joy we melt.
I, the ocean of mind, drink all creation’s waves.
The four veils of solid, liquid, vapor, light,
Lift aright.
Myself, in everything,
Enters the Great Myself.
Gone forever,
The fitful, flickering shadows of a mortal memory.
Spotless is my mental sky,
Below, ahead, and high above.
Eternity and I, one united ray.
I, a tiny bubble of laughter,
Have become the Sea of Mirth Itself.



Description of Different States … rm=samadhi


Samadhi: The Height of Divine Consciousness … x_html/?se


DHYANA AND SAMADHI - Swami Vivekananda … madhi.html
Quick Reply
9 years ago  ::  Dec 11, 2008 - 2:13AM #2
Posts: 5
Yoga Sutras 1.17-1.18:

1.17 The deep absorption of attention on an object is of four kinds, 1) gross (vitarka), 2) subtle (vichara), 3) bliss accompanied (ananda), and 4) with I-ness (asmita), and is called samprajnata samadhi.
(vitarka vichara ananda asmita rupa anugamat samprajnatah)

* vitarka = gross thought or reasoning
* vichara = subtle thought
* ananda = bliss, ecstasy
* asmita = I-ness, individuality
* rupa = appearances, nature, form
* anugamat = accompanied by, associated with
* samprajnatah = cognitive absorption, lower samadhi

1.18 The other kind of samadhi is asamprajnata samadhi, and has no object in which attention is absorbed, wherein only latent impressions remain; attainment of this state is preceded by the constant practice of allowing all of the gross and subtle fluctuations of mind to recede back into the field from which they arose.
(virama pratyaya abhyasa purvah samskara shesha anyah)

* virama = cessation, stopping, receding
* pratyaya = cause, cognitive principle, content of mind, cognition
* abhyasa = practice
* purvah = preceding, coming before
* samskara = deep impressions, imprints in the unconscious, deepest habits, subliminal activators, traces
* shesha = residual, subliminal
* anyah = the other (the other samadhi)

Stages: Building upon practice (abhyasa) and non-attachment (vairagya) (1.12-1.16), the meditator systematically moves inward, through four levels or stages of concentration on an object (1.17), and then progresses to the stage of objectless concentration (1.18).

Discrimination: Developing a razor sharp discrimination from such concentration is the purpose of the eight rungs of Yoga (2.26-2.29), and forms the finer tool for introspection (3.4-3.6).

All objects are in one of four stages: Virtually all types, styles, methods, or objects of meditation are included in one of these four stages, levels, or categories (1.17). The specific objects within those four stages are discussed in later sutras.

1) Savitarka/Gross: relates to concentration on any gross object while still accompanied with other activities of the mind, including meditation on sensory awareness, visualized objects, the gross level of breath, attitudes, syllables of mantra, or streams of conscious thought.

2) Savichara/Subtle: relates to subtle objects, after the gross have been left behind; the subtleties of matter, energy, senses, and the mind are, themselves, the objects of meditation, inquiry, and non-attachment.

3) Sananda/Bliss: emphasizes the still subtler state of bliss in meditation. In this state, the concentration is free from the gross and subtle impressions that were at the previous levels.

4) Sasmita/I-ness: focuses on I-ness, which is even subtler, as it relates to the I that is behind, or witness to all of the other experiences.

Objectless concentration: The four stages (above) all have an object to which attention is directed (samprajnata). Beyond these four is objectless concentration (1.18), where all four categories of objects have been released from attention (asamprajnata).

More on Yoga Sutras 1.17-1.18:

Whatever Gross Object is chosen for meditation (visualized images, sensation, breath, energy, mantra, and attitudes, etc.), the process moves inward through stages (Gross, Subtle, Bliss, I-ness, Objectless). All methods of meditation, of all schools, traditions, teachers, lineages, religions, or paths are experienced in one or more of the stages described below. This is a universal framework for deepening meditation, and is extremely useful to understand, in that it allows you to see where you stand, and where you are going.
Quick Reply
9 years ago  ::  Dec 22, 2008 - 6:16AM #3
Posts: 2

too much confusin for me Lol XD

but well i fink the person is teachin gd stuff Lol

Check Grammar, Spelling or Style and Enhance It!
English Writing Software
Quick Reply
8 years ago  ::  Oct 22, 2010 - 4:28AM #4
Posts: 25

The word "Samadhi" means ‘sama’ and ‘dhi’. ‘Sama’ means equanimity and ‘dhi’ denotes intelligence. Samadhi is a state of concentration or absorption of consciousness induced by complete meditation.

Quick Reply
    Viewing this thread :: 0 registered and 1 guest
    No registered users viewing

    Beliefnet On Facebook