Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Different Kinds of Meditation
6 years ago  ::  Mar 03, 2008 - 11:20AM #1
mysticbutterfly
I am new to meditation. I went to the site offering suggestons on meditations and on the left there was a gigantic list of different kinds of meditation. I don't expect anyone to go into what all of them are, but could someone explain perhaps what the most common types of meditation are? I've had trouble clearing my mind for meditation, which I gather is all too common, but I intend to work on it til I'm able to do it. Thanks!
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Mar 03, 2008 - 5:29PM #2
spiritalk
Meditation means to re-train the mind from one consciousness to another.  It means that we can use all that is our being in body, mind, spirit and finding a peace centre to re-train the thinking and bring calm and peace to the whole.

In a quiet, darkened room, sitting in a chair, comfortable but alert, we take several really deep (right into the diaphram) breaths.  We visualize the diaphram as a balloon we are blowing up and as we release our air, we release all the stress and tension of the body.  We are using this to relax the body, so the mind can go into the spirit form and find a place of peace.

Visualization is important.  We visualize (in the 3rd eye or forehead) a wonderful scene from nature in which we can bring our mind back to when it wants to wander.  This will be your peace centre and returning will always bring a calm and peace to the body, mind, spirit.

Meditation is remaining alert to visual input as well as sounds.  Playing some calming music helps the effort to relax the body.

God bless, J
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Mar 06, 2008 - 3:11AM #3
Freawaru
Hi Mysticbutterfly,

most - maybe all - meditations can be sorted into one of the three categories: concentration, observation and so-called energy work. Of course, all three aspects are always present in all meditations, but usually one of them is dominating.