Page 3 of 3  •  Prev 1 2 3
Switch to Forum Live View The Forgotten war (on BN USN&P)
2 years ago  ::  May 17, 2012 - 12:49AM #21
Unworthyone

May 16, 2012 -- 4:21PM, rabello wrote:

All I can say is that I am very, very glad that I do not share such harsh views about other people who did nothing to me and whom I do not even know.  

I wonder how you think the people of Afghanistan are supposed to stop criminals in their midst from committing criminal acts.   They aren't even allowed to sing in public afterall without being executed.  Not even superior Americans are able to stop criminals from committing violent acts and we have none of the oppressions that the people of Afghanistan are subject to.  I would say there's a lot more involved that the simplistic "it's their choice".

Rabello, your opinion of me notwithstanding, we agree that we need to stop fighting these wars of occupation.  I am a vet who does not wish war on anyone.  But there are times when war is both justified and necessary.  Pearl Harbor was one instance, and I believe 9/11 was another.

I am curious as to what you think should have been the U.S. response following 9/11, since retaliation against Al Qaeda and their supporters in Afghanistan does not meet with your approval.

I never consider a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend.  Thomas Jefferson

Science without religion is lame, religion without science is blind.
Albert Einstein

You can get anything you want out of life if you will just help enough other people get what they want. Zig Ziglar

Here's the difference between a capitalist society and a communist society:  Under capitalism, man exploits man. Under communism, it's the other way around.
Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 17, 2012 - 10:29AM #22
catboxer

When somebody shoots up a school, the usual police response is to capture the shooter. A trial generally follows.