Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Pause Switch to Standard View The Supreme Court: Playing the States...
Show More
Flag voice-crying April 4, 2012 8:35 PM EDT
The Supreme Court is ruling on the: Individual Mandate (in the health care bill-ObamaCares). I'm not a lawyer but looking at: article I, section 8, clause 3; it says that congress has the power to regulate commerce with: foreign Nations...and among the SEVERAL STATES..., we have 50 States). IMO, the: "several states" IS: interstate commerce.  

There's something in the constitution that says that if a law is constitutional and the Supreme Court loses its mind and rules it unconstitutional; the Congress and 3/4 of the State Legislatures can overrule them. I didn't know anyone could overrule the SC.

We know who's on the bench and what they are capable of doing...i.e. 2000 election. So! My question is: are those who brought this issue to the courts actually trying to take all rights from the Federal Government in favor of States Rights? Or, are they just playing politics?

The way I'm reading it..each of the 50 States-Congress, would have to vote on an issue (let's say the individual mandate); if 3/4 of all States vote for it, even though the SC (unjustly) ruled it unconstitutional, Congress would win. What I don't understand is...who tells the SC that they are wrong? How many centuries would it take for their (SC) ruling to be overturned so the different State Legislatures can vote?

This whole thing sounds very confusing. I think it is a diversion and those who filed the complaint knows it. 

Article I, Section 8, Clause 3:[2]

[The Congress shall have Power] To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and among the several States, and with the Indian tribes;