Page 10 of 10  •  Prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10
Switch to Forum Live View Arabs not required to sing Israel's ethnocentric national anthem
3 years ago  ::  Mar 21, 2012 - 3:26AM #91
Miraj

I'll tell you one place I don't get my information from, and that's Wikipedia.  Why?  Because I was an editor there, so I know what goes on behind the scenes - a lot of politics, intimidation and rangling to get a particular point of view to dominate.  It's a DIY info source for the intellectually lazy.

FYI: When you use Wikipedia, the first thing you should do before you post a link is click on the tab called "Talk".  Back there, depending on the subject, you'll most likely find discussions and debates, often like the ones we have here, about who changed what and why they want it changed back, blah, blah, blah.  Or, you'll see an apology about how the subject is such a mess that they've started some project to fix it.

When I use it, it's only because I figure that no one is going to do any more to move the subject forward than to look there anyway, since it's usually the first thing that pops up in the search list. Wikipedia is not authoritative, and the history it promotes is that of the guy whose edit is the one you're reading now.

BTW, Jewish Israeli-American expats are not the first bunch of folks I'd look to for the minority point of view re the civil rights movement. Like I said before, being there among those who made the movement was worth the price of admission.

Mar 21, 2012 -- 2:08AM, habesor wrote:

Miraj,