6 years ago  ::  Sep 12, 2008 - 6:08PM #1
Summer813
Hello, everyone.

First off, allow me to apologize for my recent absence. Regrettably, I've not spent as much time around here lately as I would have liked, Real Life having intervened and kept me busy with various odds and ends including homework for a college course I'm currently taking. It's weird being back in college over twenty years after I got my previous degree, but exciting at the same time. It is, however, a lot of work.

In any case, I've now gotten my ducks in something resembling a row, and so I logged on today and was promptly struck by how the level of discourse seems to have degenerated of late. A well-reasoned discussion, even a heatedly passionate one, is to be appreciated, but name-calling and personal ("ad hominem") attacks really have no place in such a discussion. I added a post today to a thread I hadn't read all of yet, then once I finished reading it I realized that it had sunk to the point where there appeared to be no bringing it out of the mud-slinging fest it had become. That thread is now locked.

I realize that we all have some very strong feelings on the topics brought up in this forum, myself included. I also realize that some of us may well find the POV of some of the others offensive - again, myself occasionally included. However, that is no excuse for couching our very discussion in unnecessarily offensive terms. We are all, ostensibly, civilized adults, and thus ought to be capable of handling debates and disagreements in a civilized and mature manner. I posit that there is more to be gained by doing so than by resorting to name-calling and other personal attacks. Attacking an idea is one thing, but attacking the person who espouses an idea is quite another. Let's please refrain from the latter, shall we?