Switch to Forum Live View All Saints (Pasadena) to Marry Same-Sex Couples
7 years ago  ::  May 28, 2008 - 1:07AM #1
Merope
[COLOR="Navy"]In the wake of the court's decision, All Saints in Pasadena says it will allow gay and lesbian couples to marry, presumably when the decision becomes final.  Story [COLOR="RoyalBlue"]here[/COLOR].

The vestry voted unanimously on Thursday (May 22) to "treat all couples presenting themselves for the rite of marriage equally."  All Saints currently blesses same-sex relationships.

All Saints' rector, Edwin Bacon, said:  "As a priest and pastor, I anticipate with great joy strengthening our support of the sanctity of marriage as I marry both gay and straight members and thus more fully live out my ordination vows to nourish all people from the goodness of God's grace."

The article reports that Jon Bruno, bishop of the Diocese of Los Angeles (the diocese in which All Saints is located), could not be reached for comment.  However, the article also reports that Bruno welcomed the court's decision when it was handed down.  I wonder how he'll respond.  He was pretty adamant after the HOB response to the Windsor Report in New Orleans last year that no blessings of SSUs would henceforth be permitted in his diocese.

The article also reports that a spokeswoman at 815 declined to comment on All Saints' decision.

The article says TEC "defines" marriage as between one man and one woman but doesn't give a source for that definition.  Certainly the BCP rubrics presume this and speak of "this man" and "this woman," as well as of "husband and wife."  The [COLOR="royalblue"]canon on matrimony[/COLOR] (Canon I.18), requires each spouse to sign a declaration that (among other things) they "hold marriage to be a lifelong union of husband and wife as it is set forth in the Book of Common Prayer" and that they believe "the union of husband and wife" is intended by God for, basically, the same reasons set forth in the BCP.

[/COLOR]