Switch to Forum Live View Everything but religion...
5 years ago  ::  Mar 03, 2010 - 2:11PM #1
lucy

Hiya,

I'm pretty new to this, so thought I'd say a quick hello first :) Hi!

I've got myself into a bit of a pickle.

I've fallen in love with someone who could be considered my best friend. He is probably one of the most amazing, loving people I've had the pleasure of meeting. Fortunately, he told  me he feels exactly the same way...

However, my lack of Christian faith right now - a complex and long drawn out issue - means that he feels he cannot be with me. We are trying to return to the point where we are just friends, whilst I put my mind to reconnecting with God...

My problem, really, is what if this isn't enough? I miss him terribly and its only been 2 days. We both have the same moral beliefs - I don't believe in sex before marriage, and at 22 haven't yet been kissed Embarassed. He respects me for this, rather than laughing in my face like many I'v encountered...

What do I do? Cry

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Mar 03, 2010 - 3:19PM #2
Tolerant Sis

To thine own self be true, Lucy.  

Do NOT allow this man to force you to adopt a faith you do not feel.  Faith, or the lack thereof, is a personal choice; if he is allowed to co-opt this choice for you, it will never end.  You will find yourself tied to a controlling man who needs to 'correct' you in every area of your life.  Faith is a pretty big deal, but other things are bigger.