Page 1 of 8  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 Next
Switch to Forum Live View What's a Degree REALLY Worth???
5 years ago  ::  Feb 03, 2010 - 9:19AM #1
LeahOne

online.wsj.com/article/SB100014240527487...

Is it worth $800,000 over a work lifetime?  More?  Less?  Does it matter?

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Feb 03, 2010 - 10:10AM #2
Erey

I think a degree, just like life in general is worth what you make of it. 

If a degree allows you to be in the very job you love, albeit low paying then that degree is priceless. 

For me personaly, I am glad I have a degree but I can see doing the same thing without a degree.  So for me there is probably not alot of worth other than the value of pursuing and achieving education (which has it's own worth).  My sister is a teacher, which she loves being and makes less than half what tend to make.  Her degree is worth more because without that degree she could not be a teacher and do what she loves. 

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Feb 03, 2010 - 10:46AM #3
LeahOne

Erey, that's a much more philosophical POV than anything in the article - but then it does come from the Wall St Journal, lol!

The article was much more focused on economic 'value' in terms of earning power.  You have raised an entirely different question, which is well worth examining.

Or we might ask the question "Is it worth the cost, to get the degree?"  - and again it will depend on which degree and what kind of career.

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Feb 03, 2010 - 11:05AM #4
Ironhold

Feb 3, 2010 -- 10:46AM, LeahOne wrote:

Or we might ask the question "Is it worth the cost, to get the degree?"  - and again it will depend on which degree and what kind of career.

Bear in mind, though, that some of your better-paying careers are generally closed to a person unless they have either a college degree, some sort of advanced training in the field, or both.

And even then, you may have to have advanced training beyond that if you wish to keep moving upwards.