Switch to Forum Live View Your Mother's Favorite Recipe
6 years ago  ::  Apr 23, 2009 - 12:34PM #1
Beliefnetsabee

What is (was) your mother's favorite recipe?

I always remember that for every word typed there is a real person sitting behind the keyboard.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Apr 23, 2009 - 2:25PM #2
darcamani

I had to laugh at this one.

My mother suffered from schizophrenia.  Cooking was not something she did well, most stuff that came out of the kitchen were completely unidentifiable.  I started cooking as soon as I was tall enough, and I am now a chef.  ((Thanks mom)).

I can offer some of the most memorable... first thing that comes to mind, was actually my dad copeing with us kids when my mom was in hospital.  Swansons' (tm). Chicken ala King.  It was the only thing he could cook at the time and must have been on sale.  We ate it for 6 weeks, on everything from bread to mashed potatoes whipped into submission the consistency of Elmers Glue. (tm.)  I know it was 6 weeks because it was an entire marking period when I was in 2nd grade.

I started cooking then!  Because I had such firm role models in the kitchen, (sarcasm), I had my own problems because I watched my mom attempt to make sence of the kitchen.  

I was 18 before I found out New England Boiled Dinner was not supposed to be gray. :) I thought salmon came in a can naturally  and liver was supposed to be orange... fudge was to be eaten with a spoon and ice cream was liquid.   I don't recall eating anything green until I left home. I was mystified!

The one thing my mom managed to cook was a basic grilled cheese sandwich, american cheese and white bread. sometimes she would put interesting things on it like mustard, ketchup, mayo or something that would make it extra crunchy, yet che grilled it perfectly everytime.  I still make those . :)

Dar

Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Apr 23, 2009 - 6:36PM #3
rasphila