Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Page 1 of 3  •  1 2 3 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Do you have a degree you don't use?
9 years ago  ::  Jul 21, 2008 - 1:54AM #1
Sailorlal79
This thread is merely intended to make me feel better for abandoning my career path. I have a masters in it, but it just doesn't do it for me. So I'd love to hear about people who have degrees they don't use, and how they manage to make a living anyway:)
Quick Reply
Cancel
9 years ago  ::  Jul 21, 2008 - 1:54AM #2
Sailorlal79
This thread is merely intended to make me feel better for abandoning my career path. I have a masters in it, but it just doesn't do it for me. So I'd love to hear about people who have degrees they don't use, and how they manage to make a living anyway:)
Quick Reply
Cancel
9 years ago  ::  Jul 26, 2008 - 9:08PM #3
hmstrwheel
I have a BA in anthropology.  I'm back in school for a tech degree in electronics engineering technology.  Why?  With my 4-year degree I was working as a veterinary assistant making $7.00/hr (at age 33).  Having still one more quarter until graduation for the AAS degree I already have a job where I make QUITE a bit more than that.  Sad, isn't it?  :p
Quick Reply
Cancel
9 years ago  ::  Jul 27, 2008 - 4:18PM #4
Sailorlal79
Well, I have to figure out how to make a reasonable income with a MA, but not in anything useful:)
Quick Reply
Cancel
9 years ago  ::  Aug 14, 2008 - 4:49PM #5
PaulaEdwina
I have a BS in Microbiology but have about had it with being a tech (lay offs, lateral movement, etc) and went back to school back in 2006 for a PhD in Public Health. Got my Master of Science in Public Health earlier this year, and next semester is my last class before dissertation. I want to move out of corporate and into government (Dept of Health) and academia. I've already begun the academia path as I now teach for the University of Phoenix.