Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Switch to Forum Live View I don't think I believe- but I want to. Help?
3 years ago  ::  Aug 12, 2014 - 10:53PM #1
Chiroptera
Hi everyone. Firstly, I have no idea if I'm posting this in the appropriate forum or not... So I apologize if I've done something incorrectly. I guess I'll start by letting you all know a bit about me. I'm a 20 year old woman. I'm a student in the sciences. I was raised Catholic. I want to be clear that I'm not trying to offend anyone. I am legitimately asking for help.

So, basically... I don't know if I believe in all of this. Any of it. But I want to believe, more than anything. But I don't know how? I've struggled with this most of my life. I had my first existential crisis around 7, when the idea of mortality really struck me. Ever since, I've struggled a lot with doubt and depression. I feel like I've tried all of the "quick fixes." I've read the Bible (not cover to cover, but read passages during dark times), I've prayed, I've attended church services... And I always feel nothing. I never feel a "presence" or a sense of anything, really. To me, prayer feels like talking to a brick wall. Nothing happens. Same with the Bible. Same with church services. I briefly attended an Episcopal Church, and that was probably the most welcome I've ever felt in a church. But welcomed and appreciated does not equal spiritually fulfilled.