Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Reading on Jehovah's Witnesses lately
3 years ago  ::  Jan 28, 2012 - 12:36AM #1
Michelle_b

I have looked over most of their site, and I came across this one-

www.watchtower.org/e/bh/appendix_05.htm

Well, from reading about stauros, it has has a broader sense of meaning. It can mean cross or stake. So, how can they say it cannot mean a cross? I am new to reading about the Jehovah's Witness, so maybe I can get some help here.
Thank you.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Jan 30, 2012 - 3:46PM #2
Phronesis

This is from Vine's Dictionary of Old Testament and New Testament words:

"Stauros

Cross, Crucify: denotes, primarily, "an upright pale or stake." On such malefactors were nailed for execution. Both the noun and the verb stauroo, "to fasten to a stake or pale," are originally to be distinguished from the ecclesiastical form of a two beamed "cross." The shape of the latter had its origin in ancient Chaldea, and was used as the symbol of the god Tammuz (being in the shape of the mystic Tau, the initial of his name) in that country and in adjacent lands, including Egypt. By the middle of the 3rd cent. A.D. the churches had either departed from, or had travestied, certain doctrines of the Christian faith. In order to increase the prestige of the apostate ecclesiastical system pagans were received into the churches apart from regeneration by faith, and were permitted largely to retain their pagan signs and symbols. Hence the Tau or T, in its most frequent form, with the cross-piece lowered, was adopted to stand for the "cross" of Christ."

That is NOT a Watchtower publication.

If one studies the history of the word stauros, it will be discovered that it originally did indeed mean "stake or upright pale" only. AFTER the idea that Jesus was executed on a cross began to be taught and inserted in translations of the Bible, stauros took on the additional, later meaning of cross.