4 years ago  ::  Jun 16, 2010 - 4:29PM #1
Stargazer_jilly

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Christianity, but not new to God persay.

I studied, and even practiced a few different beliefs and religions throughout the years, however my belief in God and Jesus never faltered, even if that belief contradicted the other beliefs I was studying.  I always come back to God.

In the meantime I've had a baby, and a whole lotta turmoil in my life since that, so between that and the enormous amount of negative news about teens, pre-teens and children getting into trouble with tons of different things, I just get a very strong feeling that now is the time I really devote myself to Christianity.

Here is my question...how do I know which sect of Christianity to follow?  Which church would be the right church for me and my daughter to start going to?

Any help, advice or even someone pointing me in the right direction of research would be greatly appreciated!

I can tell you right now that Catholocism is definitely not for me...and neither is evangelism.  Those I have experience with, and enough knowledge to know I am not a great fit for those.

Thank you in advance,

Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Jun 16, 2010 - 6:34PM #2
Bezant

Hullo Star

I pray everything goes well with you, your baby, and your spiritual journey.

About your question--I hope my advice helps.

This question, which I've asked myself, is better asked of yourself than outsiders (including myself) -- it concerns you, and better answered by no one but yourself, especially given you've experimented with other religions. When you decide, you must have a bigger answer than, "Am I a good fit for those?" but rather, "Do I believe this particular belief to be universally true -- this more than a sect, that this faith is exactly what Christ intended?" What faith were you born in and what faiths did you try? Just curious.