5 years ago  ::  May 24, 2010 - 4:22PM #1
sharktacos

I am a Christian seminary student interested in learning more about the Jewish faith.

Walter Brueggemann has described the Hebrew Scriptures as having multiple competing "witnesses," different narratives each competing to be the one true description of God. As many have pointed out (Karen Armstrong being a popular example) there is clearly in the Hebrew Scriptures a narrative of the tribal violent warrior God, yet the majority of Jews would describe God as being primarily being a God who is loving and gracious towards all humanity.

As a Christian I agree with this, and would also prioritize this narrative of a gracious and loving God as well as the key aspect of God's character, and seek to understand the other narratives within that bigger story. So I am happy to see that there is a commonality here.

Here's my question: In so doing we have both prioritized this narrative of a loving gracious God over the warrior narrative. I agree with this prioritization, yet as a Christian I get to this through the New Testament. I would like to learn how Jews get to the same place as I do without use of the New Testament.

thanks!

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  May 27, 2010 - 10:11AM #2
NahumS

Traditional Judaism sees Scripture as one unified narrative that sees the Infinite through many prisms. There are no competing narratives - they complement one another.

The Midrash (a Torah commentary from the 1st century CE that reads betweens the lines of Scripture) said it basically like this: "He appeared to them at the Reed Sea like a man of war, and at Sinai like an elder and a teacher." Meaning that G-d is described according to His actions at a specific event.

The "real" One is beyond our understanding and perception. G-d is no more (and no less) gracious than He is the G-d of vengeance. Justice and mercy are equally His - we appeal to His mercy because we are His children.