Switch to Forum Live View Would like to visit a congregation
5 years ago  ::  Nov 04, 2009 - 5:20PM #1
ebthoreau

Greetings all. This is my first time posting in the Judaism forum. Lately, though, I've been reading a lot about Judaism (particularly Reform) on the web. I also ordered a catalog of "everything Jewish." It's a really neat catalog; I just enjoy browsing it.

Anyway, I'm not saying I want to convert. I'm a practicing Buddhist in the Zen tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh, and I'm very happy in my spiritual tradition. I have, however, always been fascinated by the variety of human religious expression, and I totally dig Jewish culture.

So, here's my question. I'd like to visit a synagogue/congregation - would you recommend Orthodox, Conservative or Reform? Also, would you mind giving me a heads-up for any possible faux pas I should make sure to avoid? Should I call before attending? Dress code?

Thanks.

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Nov 04, 2009 - 8:26PM #2
Metis

I would recommend Reform first for a couple of reasons.  One is that more of the service will probably be in English rather than Hebrew.  Following a Conservative or Orthodox service, even though there's translations available, can be a bit difficult at first.  Secondly, Reform services are probably closer to what you may have experienced if you ever went to a church.  However, sometime along the line I would recommend going to an Orthodox service, but be prepared for a different kind of experience.

As far as dress is concerned, if in doubt just wear a nice shirt and sport-coat if you're male or a nice dress that falls below the knee if you're female.  It is not necessary to notify the synagogue in advance, but you might mention that you are a visitor when you walk in because they may invite you to sit down near someone whereas they can help show you the ropes and answer questions afterword.  Do not be intimidated because there's guests all the time at most of our synagogues.