Switch to Forum Live View Trying To Step Out Of Childhood Indoctrination
5 years ago  ::  Jul 10, 2009 - 10:14PM #1
Coltpixied

Hello everyone!

I'm new to Beliefnet, and am seeking some guidance. I posted some questions on the Pagan forum, and received a suggestion to check teh Reconstructionist forum out. I have two issues I'm currently contending with.

I was raised in an extremely conservative, strict Christian church, which ultimately pushed me away from that faith when I reached adulthood. I want to move on to my own path, but am so terrified of "going to hell" even though I can't say I buy those concepts anymore. All of the Christian concepts I was taught growing up just eat away at me, and I can't seem to let go, no matter how much I want to.

I've always been drawn to various forms of Paganism, and I took the Belief-o-Matic and my results were generally, Neo-Pagan, Reconstructionist, Wiccan, etc.

I just can't pinpoint exactly what branch of those beliefs mine fit into. Growing up I had premonitions, saw fairies, communicated with what seemed to be ghosts (even at the age of 4), and could sense things in other people's lives that no one else could have possibly known. I've always held a strong reverence for Nature, and am absolutely captivated by the world of the fae. As a teen, I spoke with my pastor about these things, because I didn't understand them--a lot of it didn't line up with the Bible, and as a result had countless "excorcisms" performed on me. It was terrifying and ultimately detrimental. And please don't get me wrong--I'm not trying to disrespect Christians by any means. I still everyone's personal beliefs...it's just not what I feel is right for me in my own heart.

But like I said, I just don't know within what Reconstructionist or Pagan belief system I would fit into, and I feel like if I can pinpoint it, that will definitely help me to move away from my childhood and into my true self.