Switch to Forum Live View New to the Friends Church
7 years ago  ::  Jan 14, 2008 - 2:46AM #1
rollinsdad
Hello, I am new to the Friends Church and have a few questions about the denomination. Our congregation recently had a conference with Dave Kingrey outlining Quaker beliefs, but I don't see our congregation following a lot of what he said. I have recently been elected to the Spiritual Life Committee of our church and the answers I get from the older members of our church are somewhat disturbing. The majority of our membership (like myself) came from other denominations at one time or another, and over the years the service which we now have really resembles a stuffy Baptist or Methodist service. Our pastor is very forward thinking but has really had his hands tied in the past by the committees when it has come to doing ANYTHING different. If there are any Quakers here who would take the time to answer some of my questions I would greatly appreciate it. God bless!
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 14, 2008 - 5:53PM #2
foxfell
[QUOTE=rollinsdad;212139]Hello, I am new to the Friends Church and have a few questions about the denomination. [/QUOTE]

Hello rollinsdad and welcome to Quakerism.  I am probably not the best person to offer you your initial greeting to the "Welcome: Christianity: Friends (Quakers)" forum or to answer your questions.  But I will give it a try until one of the weighty Quakers shows up with a more thorough response.