Page 1 of 3  •  1 2 3 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Hinduism without Indian culture?
6 years ago  ::  Dec 05, 2007 - 8:18PM #1
Kullervo
I think there's probably a lot of truth to Hinduism (I'm no expert on the religion, but I'm interested, and I"ve done some reading), but it seems like for all practical purposes it's so embedded in Indian/South Asian culture that it could never be a good cultural fit for a Westerner like me.  In the end, I'd be adopting the faith of another people, not finding a faith that is universal enough to fit me.

Or am I wrong?
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Dec 30, 2007 - 2:52PM #2
krishna_devotee
I've had the same issue about Indian culture and Hinduism for a number of years, since I was denied entry to a temple in India, because I am a white woman. I've debated briefly about this issue a few years back, and I've found that there will never be an easy answer to this question. When I raised this issue before another poster replied, fairly, that us white Hindu converts or "wanna-bes" should stop expecting the red-carpet welcome and being hailed as visiting royalty. I agree, but that wasn't my point.

The most orthodox Hindus will deny your being Hindu. You are not Indian, you are not, therefore, able to understand the depths of Hindu culture, Other Hindus will give you openly curious glances at temples and Hindu religious functions, but will not deny you the right to be present and participate in religious functions. Some Hindus will go out of their way to welcome you and you will feel as if your soul had always been Hindu.