Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Switch to Forum Live View Questions regarding beliefs (Buddhism and Islam)
4 years ago  ::  Jun 05, 2014 - 5:07PM #1
Bcrafty07
Hello everyone. So I had some questions to ponder on here. I had been practicing a bit of Buddhism for several years. 
What I like about Buddhism:
compassion towards all living things,
the Dalai Lama and what he shares with us (I enjoy some of his books),
it seems very flexible in practices

But last year I decided I wanted to learn about Islam, since I have some female friends who are Muslim. They are welcoming, friendly and really just never mentioned Islam unless I asked.
I kind of like what some of Islam has to say:
a merciful God,
lots and lots of intriguing info about science and the Quran,
a lot of respect for women,
a large community (where I live) whom are welcoming

Several things are very attractive:
having respect for others faiths and practices,
that my good deeds in life matter for the here and later,
that I just might be someone that God has a plan for. 

Yet I'm a critical thinker, I wonder "why" the prayers so often each day (which I've only read about) and why fasting during Ramadan? How can I tell if there is or has been a connection (my own personal one) with a God?  I grew up in a Christian home and never understood this "you should fear God" concept - or even if I felt a God existed. 
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Jun 06, 2014 - 2:30AM #2
RevDorris

Prayer in Islam shows submission to Allah or God.  5 times each day is a ritual called for in their scriptures.  No matter where you are or what you are doing, you are required to pray at specific times each day.