Switch to Forum Live View I am confused about oathbreaking.
2 years ago  ::  Jul 19, 2012 - 10:50AM #1
DavidH
I have not been a Heathen very long. I am new to Asatru.

I used to be a Christian. i am definitely not anymore.  I read about how murderers and oathbreakers go to a place of punishment when they die.

When I first decided to be a Heathen I prayed to the gods and from what I remember I dedicated myself to them.  I changed my mind later and didn't believe for a little while. I now truly believe in the gods of Asatru.

I am wondering if me dedicating myself to the gods and then going back on it by not believing before if that makes me an oathbreaker to the gods and if i'm going to go to Nifelhel when i die. Even though I believe now again I am afraid i'm a techinical oathbreaker and I don't want to be doomed when I die. I have faith that i'm not going to be but i'm still really worried. 

Any advice would be very helpful.  Thank you.   
Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Jul 19, 2012 - 9:53PM #2
gorm-sionnach

Not being an Asatruar, I can only comment on your predicament to the extent I understand the theology behind it. Generally though, restitution to those you have wronged through the sundering of your oaths would be the first step to getting right with the gods and restoring frith.

It may take some time, but there are a few Asatruar`s who post with some regularity, who should be able to give you a proper answer.

Truth in our hearts, Strength in our arms, Fulfillment in our tongues.
Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Jul 26, 2012 - 3:20PM #3
John_T_Mainer

One of the problems that a lot of new heathens have when they come to the ancestral way is that they attempt to treat it like a religion, because it has aspects of that, and attempt to hold themselves to standards of obedience and reverence that were never a part of our ancestral practice.