Page 22 of 22  •  Prev 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22
Switch to Forum Live View Just what is a traditional, holy marriage?
3 years ago  ::  Jun 10, 2012 - 5:42PM #211
Hoppy393

Bye bye.

Before the thread closes, thank you to JLB and Ed.W for answering my question about the sacramental value of marriage in their respective traditions - for me, at least, it helped to understand the heart behind the process.

My background is Lutheran, and I remember seasoned pastors in Minnesota telling me about the old days, where marriage wasn't called a sacrament, per se, but it was celebrated as one did Baptism.  If there was a wedding in the church, the couple had the choice to have the marriage ceremony in fellowship with the entire congregation and as part of the Sunday worship service.  Today, they suggest it every now and then - half as a joke, half with hope - and don't get any takers.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Jun 10, 2012 - 5:56PM #212
G.flower

Jun 10, 2012 -- 5:32PM, Hoppy393 wrote:

Jun 10, 2012 -- 4:20PM, G.flower wrote:

Jun 10, 2012 -- 3:32PM, Hoppy393 wrote:

Jun 10, 2012 -- 10:51AM, G.flower wrote:

Jun 10, 2012 -- 2:13AM, Hoppy393 wrote:

Jun 9, 2012 -- 9:08PM, Ed.W wrote:

Matthew 19:8

"He saith unto them, Moses because of the hardness of your hearts suffered you [...] but from the beginning it was not so."

Absolutely.

Marriage was meant to be more. 

And Pharisees came up and in order to test him asked, “Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife?” He answered them, “What did Moses command you?” They said, “Moses allowed a man to write a certificate of divorce and to send her away.” And Jesus said to them, “Because of your hardness of heart he wrote you this commandment. But from the beginning of creation, ‘God made them male and female.’ ‘Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife,and the two shall become one flesh.’ So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.”