Switch to Forum Live View Questions for Buddhists
3 years ago  ::  May 22, 2012 - 4:09PM #1
ndg4
Good afternoon,

I'm looking for some questions I have regarding Buddhism. I was raised a Christian, and I'm currently studying many different religions and their world views. I'm really trying to make an informed decision regarding my faith and a response would be appreciated.  

1. What is the purpose of life?
2. Who is Jesus Christ to you? 
3. What happens when you die?
4. Does suffering have a purpose? If so, what? If not, why not?
5. Who is God to you?
6. What is your view of the Christian Bible?
7. If you could only state one thing, what is the most important thing in your
life?

Thank you! 

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  May 22, 2012 - 10:51PM #2
etoro

1. What is the purpose of life?  -  To achieve true happiness otherwise defined as Buddhahood.

2. Who is Jesus Christ to you? - A deeply empathetic and compassionate man who faught for the happiness of the people even at the risk of his own life. 

3. What happens when you die? - The aggregates of manifested phenomena which comprise our temporary existence recede into their latent state in the same way that thoughts appear and recede during each thought moment and one's own consciousness itself recedes each night when we fall into deep sleep.  

4. Does suffering have a purpose? If so, what? If not, why not? - Suffering derives from sheer attachment to temporarily arisen phenomena devoid of a total awareness of their true nature.  However were it not for suffering we would not seek true happiness. The search for true happiness leads us to investigate the nature of dharmas.  In this way we come to discern the difference between conditional and unconditional dharmas. True happiness derives from awakening to the unconditional aspect of all dharmas. All dharmas or phenomena contain the marks and signs of the unconditional aspect of dharmas. This is known as the Middleway of true Wisdom.