3 years ago  ::  Mar 03, 2012 - 1:54PM #1
khlara
I've recently started meditating again. My meditation practice has been undertaken in fits and starts, mainly because I keep hitting the same wall...so to speak.

Every time I start a meditation practice, several hours after I've meditated, and for the next few days, I end up becoming angry. Very angry and rageful, and just downright mean to other people.  After I stop my meditation practice, I'm fine. But no matter what, when I try to restart my meditation practice, it happens all over again.

So far, I've gotten the same response from dharma teachers, sangha members and therapists. I need to sit down and analyze/look at these feelings. So I do. And all that comes up is that I really hate people. I can't stand people, or the way they act. 

I don't want to be a mean, angry, hateful, person...so I'm looking for help and any advice people can give me. I'm still new to my meditation practice. Since it's been an on-off again relationship, I've not been able to deepen my relationship with it as I would like.

~ Khlara
Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Mar 05, 2012 - 1:10AM #2
Bob0
Thich Nhat Hanh authored a book called Taming The Tiger Within, Meditations on Transforming Difficult Emotions. It is the best book on anger that I have encountered.

Bob
Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Mar 05, 2012 - 5:38AM #3
Bhakta_glenn

Mar 3, 2012 -- 1:54PM, khlara wrote:

I've recently started meditating again. My meditation practice has been undertaken in fits and starts, mainly because I keep hitting the same wall...so to speak.

Every time I start a meditation practice, several hours after I've meditated, and for the next few days, I end up becoming angry. Very angry and rageful, and just downright mean to other people.  After I stop my meditation practice, I'm fine. But no matter what, when I try to restart my meditation practice, it happens all over again.