Switch to Forum Live View New to Bnet, v. Conflicted about Reform Conversion
2 years ago  ::  Dec 17, 2011 - 11:06PM #1
Bluestocking
Hello everyone ... I converted many years ago, as did my then very-young daughter.  My husband of many years (decades!) is a garden variety secular humanist who had great love and suport for my choice, but did not convert.

As the years have gone by, I have, *painfully*, realized the Judaism is not in my DNA.  I love it,
I studied hard, I embraced many mitzvot, had a beit dein and mikvah, etc.  But it is not *who I am
in my kishkes.*

I read recently that people who have relocated often in childhood have identity problems and I think this might be the case with me.  My parents were in the foreign service, I grew up all over the world.
Anyway, I'm not feeling it.  Not one bit.  What should I do?

Thanks all and I'll appreciate thoughtful reponses as this is a struggle for me. 
Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Dec 18, 2011 - 3:16PM #2
Pam34

Without knowing you, I don't know whether to address the 'intellectual' aspects - theology, philosophy, ethics - or the 'emotional' aspects - community, family, traditions.

Of course, as you know, conversion is 'irrevocable'. You can't get a do-over, or take it back later. You can certainly stop practicing Judaism, but Judaism won't read you out of the tribe - it will just consider you a backslider...

And - just as a personal note, because I'm a convert too - it will make it hard for all converts, now and in future, because 'born Jews' will point to those who 'leave' and ask why they should welcome converts in the first place, if they aren't 'really sincere'? (how anybody is supposed to look twenty years down the road and understand if they are or aren't 'sincere' is beyond me).

but I suppose you know that, too.