3 years ago  ::  Jul 10, 2011 - 8:02PM #1
Tigress42
Heya...

so - i'm kind of new, both to the site and to paganism...and in general i'm drawns towards wicca - i think :P

in my research and talking with friends, i find that there is often a difference between wicca and witch. one is religious, the other a way of life - however, which is which seems to depend on who i talk to...

i was just wonder what all of your opnions are. what makes someone one or the other?
i sort of think the term in interchangable in a way - if youre wiccan you can call yourself a witch... but -then again, maybe not...

and please- limit the arguing, just answer the question if you will :)
thanks          
Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Oct 01, 2011 - 4:21PM #2
Catfairy

I am new to the Wiccan faith.  I have read books by Sybil Leek back in the 1970's.  She was so wise and wonderfu.

I feel a the word witch denotes a pracitioner of the magical arts in general.  Wicca has many paths and tranditions and their leaders are called High Priest or High Priestesses.

Ms. Leek spoke aobu the origins of the witch word being wise.  I am seeking positive people who which to glorify the ancient ways and share in a world needing a touch of feminine spiritual love.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Oct 06, 2011 - 11:46AM #3
KeaErisdottir

Wicca is a set of religious practices which are a subset of Witchcraft.  There ar many witchcraft traditions.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Oct 06, 2011 - 5:22PM #4
Sacrificialgoddess

Oct 6, 2011 -- 11:46AM, KeaErisdottir wrote:

Wicca is a set of religious practices which are a subset of Witchcraft.  There ar many witchcraft traditions.

Is Sybil Leek actually Wiccan, Kea?  I see nothing that indicates she is, but I might be looking in the wrong places.