Switch to Forum Live View What Do Amida Followers Think of Practices that are Similar to Nembutsu but not Directed to Amida?
3 years ago  ::  Jun 04, 2011 - 12:36PM #1
Parvus
Greetings,

I've been studying Buddhism for several years, but have not often had the ability to go to Buddhist temples/centers because of my remote location. Recently however, I made a trip to Dharamsala. While I was there, I spent some time at a Tibetan meditation center. The experience was enjoyable, and while I was there, Green Tara, one of the deties they were chanting to, stood out to me more than the others. I found her mantra enjoyable to chant and began chanting it all throughout the day whenever my mind did not need to be occupied with something and not long after that I began visualizing her also. This was without any guidance of a Lama because I was only there for a short time. This practice has been very helpful to me, possibly even more so than the various types of sitting meditation that I've tried. 

About a week ago, I was looking at Pure Land Buddhism online and realized that my practice of constant chanting and visualizing the deity was very similar to Nembutsu, the only difference being chant Amitaba's mantra while I am chanting Green Tara's mantra. 

This may sound strange, but from my personal experience, my practice seems easier when directed to a female, possibly because masculinity is rarely associated with compassion while feminity often is in my culture. In the past, I tried mindfulness of Gautama Buddha practice but I was not able to generate much compassion or concentration. With Green Tara, it has been much easier. The fact that she is green also appeals to me.