Switch to Forum Live View I'm a writer trying to create a more realistic shinto-buddhist character
3 years ago  ::  Mar 28, 2011 - 10:01PM #1
chris
He's a male of English and Asian descent.

He's first exposed to shinto and buddhism when his maternal grandfather and that grandfather's father begin to teach him the family style of karate (initially passed from father to son, but later from parent to child).  They interwove such lessons within the karate lessons.

I know that Japanese buddhism is generally zen buddhism (learned this from the buddhism boards here).  Is there any uniqueness and differences from the seperate religions when one combines these two religions versus how they are on their own.

Thanks for your help,
-- Chris
Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Apr 04, 2011 - 12:06PM #2
Kokoro

I believe that Budhhist beliefs tend to determine the rituals surrounding death. From what I understand, the Shinto faith tends to try to ignore things regarding death, but I cannot be certain if this is merely a modern idea or if it has roots further back.

“I'm just preparing my impromptu remarks.” - Winston Churchill
Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Apr 22, 2011 - 7:00PM #3
Katsuninken

Zen and Shinto for all intents and purposes merged and are essentially inseperable. In fact, it is often said that you are born Shinto and die Buddhist. It isn't that Shinto ignores death. In fact, the original views of the afterlife were pretty stark. This was supplanted pretty much completely by Zen influence, so Shinto essentially has reincarnation with a twist.