Page 1 of 3  •  1 2 3 Next
4 years ago  ::  Jun 10, 2010 - 9:36AM #1
Brooke

Hi, I'm a newbie to Beliefnet. Just recently signed up. Trying to find someone....anyone...lol...who would like to discuss Eckhart Tolle's beliefs. I read and have re-read "Finding Your Life's Purpose" and although much of it 'clicks' with me there are still some questions I have. Unfortunately I have no one I know personally who has also read the book therefore nonone to bounce ideas/questions off of. Hope to hear back.Smile

Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Jun 14, 2010 - 4:05PM #2
Don

Hi Brooke,

Although I haven't read much from Tolle, I've seen some of his videos.  He pretty much seems to have gotten through his 'me' part, and appears to be very much alive.  I'm glad his commentaries are getting to a lot of people.  I like his stuff too.

His commentaries are contemporary, humorous, and get to the point of awareness.  There are other good teachers of the kind of thing he discusses; the Buddha, Mdm. Blavatsky, Krishnamurti, and many others.

What is it that you particularly like about Tolle? 

Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Jun 15, 2010 - 2:28PM #3
Brooke

What do I particularily like? Hmmmm....I guess it would have to be the fact that he doesn't really 'teach' or 'preach.' There's no list of 'rules'...just what 'is.' It sounds so simple but I'm tellin you I never realized how much and how often I do NOT live in the moment....do NOT have Presence. He speaks of the 'awareness that is aware' as being consciousness....that 'awareness' is most definitely more in the front of my mind than before. I also like the beauty of it. The fact that we (all creation) possess the same 'being.' I look at alot of things differently now...animals, nature, other people...