5 years ago  ::  Sep 06, 2009 - 11:27PM #1
Sephiroth666

Hey everyone, I know where i stand in beliefs, but in rituals and magic I'm not too experienced, a little bit, in somethings at some instances  am great, however, I'm not that familiar, can anyone show me around as a guide?

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Sep 07, 2009 - 10:26AM #2
CreakyHedgewitch

Sorry, me again. On my daily rounds.

Rituals evolve out of one's beliefs. Magic, if being used within those rituals will be specific to those beliefs and the framework involved.

Otherwise magic can refer to many different systems, practices and beliefs, around the world, down through history and today. Correpondences, what is ok and what isn't, why one does magic, what is entailed...all this varies and it is a huge subject. I just nipped over and took a look (it has been a while) on Wikipedia for magic. While I may quibble with some points of the article, it covers off a lot. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magic_(paranormal)

Ironically given the calibre of her other writings/claims, a fairly decent summation/overview of generic magical practices within the West can be found in Silver Ravenwolf's Solitary Witch. I have books on historical magic as well, let me know if you want any recommendations.

You will find online or in books various lists of rules or guidelines for using magic/k. Most that I have seen are clearly meant to be used within generic Pagan Witchcraft with all its limitations. As a Vocational Witch, magic and spellcraft is probably the least useful tool within our Craft and the last ever used but a V-Witch is still expected to know at least one system labelled magic/k and to keep in practice.

So here are some (hopefully useful) guidelines as you set off to explore this huge subject.

Protection first. Practice second.

99.9% of the time, there is a better, faster or easier way to do what magic/k may accomplish