Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Real World vs. Buddhism
5 years ago  ::  Jun 08, 2009 - 8:28PM #1
Saturn88

I have no teacher that I can go to, so I come here from time to time.  I'm having a hard time living the precepts in the realm of "real life".  Specifically, how do I relate to people with whom I can not trust.  How can I stay at peace and in the moment when I feel the need to guard myself against people I work with, including my immediate supervisor.  I work in a school and my supervisor plotted to get a teacher fired earlier in the year.  I believe in the precepts.  I also believe my supervisor can be a real threat.  Thank you.  Undecided

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 08, 2009 - 9:52PM #2
happy_hotei

Hi Saturn!  Nice to hear from you again - it's been a while.  I'm sorry to hear you're having troubles at school, but glad to hear you're still working there. Smile  I, too, sometimes have trouble reconciling my practise with the reality of teaching and have struggled with it for a few years.  What I've found helpful is focusing on the broader tenets of the Noble Eightfold Path, specifically Right Action, Right Speech, Right Livelihood and Right Effort.  Generally, I try to make sure that what I think, say and do is done from the perspective of the dharma, so as to be beneficial to all.  It's amazing how even the most irritating of adolescents will respond positively to that when applied consistently.  Likewise, the faculty will come to see such behaviour as dignified, honourable and trustworthy so they will regard you more favourably too.  It's not always easy and I've blown it many times over, but it is a goal to strive for and it does make a difference.  If you are in need of a good, succinct translation of the N8P, try here: www.beyondthenet.net/dhamma/nobleEight.h....

I wish you well in your work and practise.

Peace,

hh

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 09, 2009 - 9:43AM #3
Bhakta_glenn