Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Karma: Justified Suffering?
6 years ago  ::  May 13, 2008 - 8:46AM #1
MatisyahuSk8er
I am new to Buddhist philosphy and there is something I have always wondered about karma which I hope others can clear up for me. Does the law of karma (whatever you do comes back to you) mean that people who are suffering deserve it? I mean, do starving children in Africa deserve that life because of something they've done(most likely in a past life), isn't this a bit cruel? Can't we just accept that suffering is? And how does Zen philosophy fit in with all this, I would really like to know because Zen the most appealing aspect of Buddhism to me.

Thank you
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  May 13, 2008 - 12:06PM #2
RenGalskap
The Buddha taught that both "I have a self" and "I have no self" are wrong view. To say that suffering is justified is to say that there is something to which punishment accrues because of that something's bad deeds. That something is a self.

Buddhism doesn't teach that suffering is justified because it doesn't teach that there is a self that deserves punishment. The fruits of karma are just the fruits of karma itself, not retribution for the actions of a self.

That may seem a bit dry and cold blooded; it seems to suggest that suffering doesn't matter because there's no self that suffers. It may help to remember the Zen saying "Everying is delusion, but we still have to give medicine to the sick." The English word "compassion" is usually used as a translation of the Buddhist concept of "karuna", but karuna includes doing something helpful, not just compassionate feelings.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  May 14, 2008 - 9:01AM #3
MatisyahuSk8er